What Are You Serving Today?

 “You got to know when to leave the table when love is no longer being served”- Nina Simone

Lately I have been thinking about this and its application to my life and the world. From the Pan African point of view (Pan African is different from pro black), we seem to be lacking this sense of judgement. It is said that the Africans are very hospitable to strangers (especially the wrong ones) and we’ve had to pay dearly for this “love”. Our “hospitality” has harmed the continent more than the coons have. Our hospitality has made us embrace a different identity alien to the origin of our people. This space between who we’re meant to be and who we currently are is only to found in the past (in our ancestors). This knowledge seems to be lost cause we opened up ourselves without protecting our core.

The invasion of strangers into the motherland has always been embraced with warmth and friendliness. Our culture permits us to intermix with other people. Why? Because we’re the first ones here. Every other culture are fruits from the African mind; fruits that might have gotten polluted (or not) depending on their people’s relationship with nature and the land. I have no prejudice towards non Africans but one truth remains: ”We have to step out of embracing other people and start embracing ourselves.” At some point in my life, I thought this would actually mean that I was hating on other people but I have also come to accept the idea that only Africans can heal the motherland.  Of course, we might still consider the idea of getting help from non Africans but that shouldn’t be the only solution to our problems. We first have to step out of our “non-African” minds and connect back to our roots.

On a personal level, I haven’t really been able to practice this as I have been on a path that makes me see myself as an extension of the source. I stopped seeing people as they truly are; making it way harder to separate the good from the bad (good/bad are just concepts to me now). My interpersonal relationship with people is an extension of my interpersonal relationship with myself. I’d like to say that I’m lit but I also know that I should have a good sense of judgment. I can literally kill myself for others and not expect anything in return and although some would consider this act as some sort of weakness, I’d rather think it is one of my greatest strengths. There is a small problem though and it’s very fatal to my growth as an individual: I get exploited by others.” This realization shouldn’t dissuade me from still giving to the world, it should rather encourage me to see things as they truly are.

I should learn to shun unrequited lovers and causes.

This doesn’t make me an asshole, it rather puts me in a position to control and expand my gifts to those who truly need it. The power behind the African mind seems to be lost at the present and that’s because he’s still dining at a banquet where love isn’t being served. The same applies to many relationships. Stop giving your power if it isn’t being returned to you. Learn to keep the balance. Nature dictates that you do.

PS: We are all Africans. We all come from the motherland even though they’re separate continents now. It was one land mass before it separated into seven.

“I’m not African because I was born in Africa but because Africa was born in me” – Kwame Nkrumah

Leave a Reply

